Assignment 9 – Final Production Review

Assignment 9 – Final Production Review

For our one show project, the idea that was green lit for us was on “don’t text while driving”. For the research we asked people if they would watch a segment like this and who it should be aimed at. An example of this is in our production where we interview Bean Beanland, who gave us answers to questions like this. We also looked into locations where we could film, (where it would be safe). As I was assigned to someone else’s production I tried to see if we could incorporate some of my ideas into it. For example the idea is about texting while driving, my idea was about phone technology and which phone to get, so I tried to see if we could include some of that. In the interview with Bean Beanland, we discussed the pros and cons of hands-free equipment. The questions that we asked in the interviews are shown in the picture below. For further research we conducted a risk assessment, this covers all of the activates that we would be doing. Such as driving, walking across the road and filming the crash scene. For more information I researched car crash facts which I added in my film.

 interview quesions            Schedule and Risk Assessment

Our director was Olly Milea and his idea was texting while driving, but Callum Bailey and I wanted to develop the idea into something more, so still including the texting and driving element we used our own similar ideas of phones and new technology to make the add different sections to the segment. We had to develop the ideas of locations for where we were going to shoot our film. Originally the plans were to film inside the New College car park and the street next to it, but we decided to go to Asda orbital and the Tesco car park, this is because we could get a range of different shots and we could film safely without too many interruptions. Another development was with the schedule. The schedule shown below only shows what we did for the first week of filming, however we changed it, we added in extra shots to fill in gaps in the segment. We used the second week of filming to film the interviews and to finish off the crash scene.

                           DSC_0295

The planning stages of the production were figuring out where to shoot the segment, what each member of the crew was doing, and how were would layout the segment. As stated above we changed our minds on where to shoot due to continuity and safety. As for the crew, Olly was the Director and an actor within the segment, Callum was the camera man and the presenter who introduced what our segment was about, and I was an actor. We were all tasked with editing our own interpretation of the production due to the given brief. The layout is shown in the picture below, this was just a rough copy for us to work by so we knew how long to film each part for. Due to timing issues we couldn’t film the technology information part, but we managed to fit it into the interview slightly.

                                            uurf[ubfpfpff

For our filming we went to Tesco car park and Asda orbital. We did this so that we could film in the same kind of environment each time and get continuity and consistency with our filming. We managed to get a variety of shots that we could use in our segment. We got quite a few fill in shots which were useful to break up long pieces of film such as the interviews. Filming was the most challenging part if the production because we were given a rule that we weren’t allowed to film inside a moving car, so some shots were hard to get and others we couldn’t do. The crash sequence between the car and the pedestrian was hard to film because with the build up we had to drive slowly as we didn’t have equipment that allowed the camera to move out of the way quickly, we also had to use a stationary car during the cash which made it quite hard to film and edit right. For the first interview with Bean Beanland we just used a stationary camera to film him, as for the second interview with Olly (The ‘reconstruction’) we made it look like sort of real by having him move down the hallways of the college, the interview its self was filmed as one long piece of film, but in editing we broke it up so we don’t just look at one long piece.

For the editing process of the production our brief told us to split individually and edit the film however we want. So that by the end there would be three different interpretations of the same footage. I broke up the footage into how I wanted it played out, then started to play around with transitions, using cuts to make the crash scene appear faster than it was filmed, and others such as fades throughout the film to break up each part of the, making viewing easier for the audience. The hardest part of the film to edit was the crash scene; this is because we filmed the car going between 5 and 10mph, where we needed it to go a lot faster to create the right effect. So I had to play around with the speed of the scene, speeding it up by about 150-200%, this made it look like the scene happened at a much faster pace than it actually did. With the interviews I didn’t want the presenters voice being heard so I played with the sound and managed to take out all of the presenters voice, so it was just the interviewees being heard, I also didn’t want the audience looking at one continuous piece of film of the someone sitting in a chair so I used other bits of film to create gaps in the film, making it more appealing to watch for the audience. I was running behind on my editing and didn’t account for time to find background music, so the songs chosen might not capture the right tone of the film but make it better to watch, and it means that there isn’t silence. Because the crash in the film didn’t actually happen I added a “reconstruction” label to the sequences of film that involved everything to do with the crash, including the interview, so that no one is offended by it.

                            Self Evaluation of Production

  1. What went well?
    I think that the shots created and gathered we used well, considering the limited resources we had. I also think that the editing process went well, from what we filmed.
  2. What could have gone better?
    I think that the pre-production planning could have gone better and the timings. (I.e. the schedule)
  3. What did I enjoy?
    My favourite part of the production was editing because I got to make it my own, by adding my own transitions, sound effects and music to it.
  4. What did I learn?
    I learnt that timing is the most important part of the production, because if something is not done on time then everything else is affected. I also learnt that paperwork is very important because it makes sure that everyone is where they are meant to be on time.
  5. What would I do differently?
    I would make sure that all the paper work is done properly and that we have it all when we plan and shoot the film, because half of the time we were out shooting we just made up what we were doing, not following the schedule. I would also use different music in my production and change the sound levels, so that the speech is not interrupted.
  6. What it my opinion of the final production?
    Overall I think that the final outcome is quite good. There are still things that could be made better like some parts of the editing. But I think from what we had to work with; equipment and film wise I think it turned out better that I thought it would have done.

Word Count: 1,367

Assignment 9 – Final Production Review

Leave a Reply

